News & EventsLatest NewsCalendar
RFU Leagues Confirmed For 2022/23

RFU Leagues Confirmed For 2022/23

Chris Campbell26 May 2022 - 16:25
Share via

1st XV placed in National 2 West, Staghounds in Counties 1 Midlands East

The RFU league structure has been confirmed for the 2022/23 season, which sees the 1st XV placed into the newly formed National 2 West, and the Staghounds into the Counties 1 Midlands East.

The new season sees the biggest change to the league structures since they were first introduced in 1987, and sees National 2 being split into 3 leagues from 2, which are North, East and West. Hinckley’s placement in the west sees local derbies against Leicester Lions and Loughborough Students, the return of previous opposition we faced in the old 2 North including Stourbridge and Luctonians as well as continued visits to the South West taking on Redruth and Barnstaple.

The Staghounds placement into the league structure is a huge step forward for the club and will ensure that the team has regular competitive fixtures against quality opposition, and also provides the players with a real opportunity to contest for 1st team selection. The Burton 2nd XV are the only other non – 1st XV in the league, with visits to Leicestershire opposition such as Ashby, Birstall, Coalville and Loughborough included.

The full list of teams in the leagues are listed below. League programmes for the U20s and the Hunters will follow, as these sides play in the Leicestershire Leagues which have not yet been confirmed.

Fixtures for the 1st XV and Staghounds will be confirmed on June 14th.

National 2 West: Barnstaple, Bournville, Clifton, Dings Crusaders, Exeter University, Hinckley, Hornets, Leicester Lions, Loughborough Students, Luctonians, Newport (Salop), Old Redcliffians, Redruth, Stourbridge

Counties 1 Midlands East: Ashbourne, Ashby, Birstall, Burton 2nd XV, Coalville, Hinckley 2nd XV, Ilkeston, Lincoln, Loughborough, Market Rasen & Louth, Mellish, Southwell

Further reading